Voices

I’m going to begin sharing with you some people who have helped shape my view of social justice as a human being and as a Christian. Voices that have challenged me and taught me so much. I have so much to learn, so much to sit with as I identify my own tendencies towards racism, misogyny, homophobia, xenophobia, etc. I think that is something that we all need to understand, even those of us that consider ourselves “woke”- we are still very much steeped in the ideologies and culture that birthed and grew the isms and phobias. Realization, listening and continued conversation are vital to growth and change.

Women of Color:

(click on names to be taken to their websites)

Austin Channing Brown– Austin is forever making me uncomfortable with her words. And that’s a GOOD thing! She illuminates the ways in which I have been complicit to white supremacy, mostly through ignorance! I would give her a follow on Facebook. Her posts are gracious but full of fire. You can feel God as she shares the truth she knows. She fills an intricate and delicate space, the intersection of faith/women/racial justice.

Deidra Riggs– Deidra is grace personified. She writes as she says to “disrupt the status quo”. But her writing isn’t angry. It’s direct but humble. Facebook is where I follow her.

Luvvie Ajayi- If you are easily offended by strong language or off color humor, you may not want to follow Luvvie. She’s unapologetic. And I love that about her. She speaks hard truth, often hilariously. Follow her on Facebook at Awesomely Luvvie. Her following is mostly women of color. Following her is a stretch for me because I’m obviously a white woman and she speaks hard to white women. I appreciate that though.

LGBTQ Voices:

Pink Menno– Pink Menno is a group that is fighting for inclusion in the Mennonite Church. They are a collective of LGBTQ voices. They are a group for support, and direct interaction with the church. There have been many hurts to LGBTQ from the church all over the world. I think as Christians it’s our duty to walk with our brothers and sisters who are hurting and fighting to be seen. Pink Menno is just one group fighting for justice.

MennoQmunity– A collective of voices. Both LGBT and allies.

Other Women:

Rachel Held Evans– Teacher, advocate, disrupter of the status quo. I can’t recommend her enough. This woman was the voice that allowed me my doubts, allowed me my questions and ultimately allowed me to shift.

Jen Hatmaker– Funny, loving, direct, courageous. She has challenged me and affirmed me many times. As a woman. As an advocate. As a Christian.

Glennon Doyle Melton– Similar to Jen Hatmaker, Glennon has challenged me and affirmed me. She is in your face. She is feisty. She has a story. She speaks and runs Together Rising, which directly benefits women and families. Her story is full of brokenness and redemption. She might be hard for conservative Christians to take, but I don’t think you can discount her voice and her reach.

Sarah Bessey– She is a preacher. No ifs, ands, or buts. You’ll be forever grateful to learn from this woman.

Books:

The New Jim Crow – Michelle Alexander

Between the World and Me – Ta-Nesihi Coates

God and the Gay Christian– Matthew Vines

Love Warrior– Glennon Doyle Melton

Jesus Feminist– Sarah Bessey

Searching for Sunday– Rachel Held Evans

My list is heavy on women. That’s on purpose.

I will add more to the conversation as time goes on, as I find more voices. I hope you will engage with me as I work to a continuing understanding of social justice in all its forms.

15085599_10211710862833360_7751400470944516200_n

Leave a Reply

